LollyPup

Just in time for my niece’s 5th birthday (her nickname is Lolly), here is a ChibiAmi Original design: pretty, precious, patchy, puppy which I call LollyPup! Aaw…

Feel free to make as many as you like, if you sell any please give credit where credit is due, and do not sell the pattern itself. This pattern is untested and it’s only the second pattern I’ve written so please send feedback if you try it out! I like to increase in each increase space, so some of my instructions might sound a bit wonky.

This pattern makes a really great Snoopy, too!

On to the pattern!

Materials used:

  • Worsted weight yarn in 2 colors
  • Size G crochet hook
  • Yarn needle
  • 15mm plastic safety eyes (available at many craft stores, including Jo-Ann Fabrics)
  • 21mm plastic safety nose (same as eyes)
  • Fiberfill

Optional:

  • Very small amount of random yarn for collar (Lollypup wears Homespun with a pretty button accent, Snoopy sports a durable cotton)
  • Embroidery thread or pearl cotton for details: eyebrows, eyelashes, etc.
  • Embroidery needle
  • Plastic pellets, tied up in pantyhose to add weight to the body

Abbreviations:

  • Ch – chain
  • Sc – single crochet
  • Sc2tog – single crochet 2 together for decrease
  • Sc3tog – single crochet 3 together for decrease (don’t know if this is an actual stitch but it did the job for me!)
  • BLO – backloops only
  • FLO – front loops only
  • MR – Magic Ring (loop yarn around your finger, work prescribed number of stitches in loop, pull yarn tail to close)

Note: do not join rounds, all pieces are worked in a spiral.

Head:

  1. In MR, sc 7, add nose before tightening but don’t put washer on yet
  2. 2sc in ea st – 14
  3. (2sc, sc) around – 21
  4. 5 rows even – 21
  5. FLO: (2sc, sc in next 2 sts) around – 28 (muzzle made)
  6. Sc in next 8 sts, (2sc, sc in next 3 sts) 5 times – 33
  7. Sc even – 33
  8. Sc in next 9 sts, (2sc, sc in next 4 sts) 5 times – 38
  9. 4 rows even – 38 (at this point, position eyes and lock in, rotate nose to desired angle and lock in, add any facial details such as eyebrows, stuff muzzle)
  10. Sc in 6 sts, (sc2tog, sc in next 4 sts) 5 times, sc2tog – 32
  11. Sc in 5 sts, (sc2tog, sc in next 3 sts) 5 times, sc2tog – 26
  12. Sc in 4 sts, (sc2tog, sc in next 2 sts) 5 times, sc2tog – 20 (stuff head firmly at this point)
  13. Sc in 3 sts, (sc2tog, sc ) 5 times, sc2tog – 14
  14. Sc2tog around – 7

Fasten off, weave tail though each st of last row, tighten to close hole.

Body:

  1. In MR, sc 8
  2. 2 sc in ea st – 16
  3. (2sc, sc) around – 24
  4. (2sc, sc in next 2 sts) around – 32
  5. 3 rows even – 32
  6. (Sc2tog, sc in next 2 sts) around – 24
  7. 3 rows even – 24
  8. (Sc2tog, sc in next 2 sts) around – 18
  9. 1 row even – 18
  10. (Sc2tog, sc) around – 12
  11. 2 rows even – 12

Fasten off, leave 18″ tail for sewing head to body

Arms:

  1. In MR, sc 6
  2. 2sc in ea st – 12
  3. 2sc in 3 sts, sc in next 9 sts – 15
  4. Sc in 3 sts, 2sc in next st, sc in 6 sts, sc2tog, sc in next 3 sts – 15 (thumb formed)
  5. Sc in 2 sts, sc2tog in next 2 sts, sc in next 9 sts – 13
  6. Sc in 2 sts, sc3tog, sc in next 8 sts – 11
  7. Sc in 2 sts, sc2tog, sc in next 7sts – 10
  8. Sc even – 10

Fasten off, leave 12″ tail for sewing on

Feet: foot is worked up one side, across the toe, down the other side, and across the heel

  1. In MR, sc 8
  2. (Sc in next 2 sts, 2sc in next 2 sts) twice – 12
  3. (Sc in next 3 sts, 2sc in next 3 sts) twice – 18
  4. Sc in next 5 sts, 2sc in next 3 sts (toe formed), sc in next 5 sts, BLO sc2tog twice (heel) – 19 There have been quite a few comments about this step, things do not add up and I’m not sure how to fix it! The concept is that for the toe you increase (2sc) in the increase spaces from Row 3, and for the heel decrease (sc2tog) in the increase spaces from Row 3.
  5. BLO sc in next 6 sts, sc2tog 3 times, sc in next 6 sts, in both loops sc in next 2 sts – 17 Same comments as for Row 4.
  6. Sc in next 6 sts, sc2tog twice, sc in next 6 sts – 15
  7. Sc in next 6 sts, sc3tog twice, sc in next 6 sts – 12
  8. Sc in next 4sts, sc2tog twice, sc in next 4 sts – 10
  9. 2 rows even

Fasten off, leave 12″ tail for sewing on

Ears: each increase should be done in the previous increase space, so the ears lay flat when finished

  1. In MR, sc 8
  2. 2 sc in ea st – 16
  3. (Sc in 7, 2sc in next st) twice – 18
  4. (Sc in 8, 2sc in next st) twice – 20
  5. (Sc in 8, sc2tog) twice – 18
  6. (Sc in 7, sc2tog) twice – 16
  7. (Sc in 6, sc2tog) twice – 14
  8. (Sc in 5, sc2tog) twice – 12
  9. (Sc in 4, sc2tog) twice – 10
  10. Sc even – 10
  11. (Sc in 8, sc2tog) twice – 8
  12. Sc even – 8

Fasten off, leave 12″ tail for sewing on

Tail: each increase is done in the previous increase so the tail has a curved shape

  1. In MR, sc 4
  2. 2sc, sc in next 3 sts – 5
  3. 2sc, sc in next 4 sts – 6
  4. 2sc, sc in next 5 sts – 7
  5. 2sc, sc in next 6 sts – 8
  6. Sc even for 4 rows – 8 each row

Fasten off, leave 12″ tail for sewing on. I lightly stuffed the base of the tail with fiberfill.

Patches:

  1. In MR, sc 6
  2. 2 sc in each st around – 12

Fasten off, leave 12″ tail for sewing on

Collar: (note: collar is completed and put on body before head is sewn on!)

  1. Ch 15 or length to fit your puppy’s neck, join with sl st
  2. Sc in each st around, fasten off and weave in ends
  3. Add decorative button, charm, tag etc if desired
68 thoughts on “LollyPup

  1. Thank you for posting! I will be happy to post a picture of my puppy when I am done.

    I am new to amigurumis, this will be a good test for your pattern 😉

  2. Rachel, as always your crochet cooties are just that cooties! They seem so complicated though so I don’t know if I want to make any of them. But you’re doing a really good job so keep it up!

  3. Jackie, this pattern is untested and I’m hoping that people will make it and give me feedback so I can clarify/simplify the instructions. I’ve made it twice but I already have in my head how it should look. 😉

  4. Pingback: Merry Christmas Key West « This Blonde Knits (& Crochets!)

  5. Pingback: » Blog Archive » birthday crafting

  6. Where can you get the saftey eyse and nose for the pattern. I tried Walmart but they didn’t have them. Your pattern is so cute.

    • i live in Hawaii and it’s pretty impossible to get safety eyes anywhere here.. i order mine off of ETSY from 6060. she is wonderful! she has great eyes in so many colors and sizes and has great prices i love how quickly she gets them mailed out to me and how quickly i get them as well. she is wonderful!

      • I’ve found them on ebay too, there’s some sellers who even hand-paint eyes, and you can find cat eyes with slits too. I made a cat with someone else’s pattern. 🙂

  7. You are very talented. Such cute characters you’ve made. I bet many (who aren’t posting also) all over are so happy to find your pattern. I’ll have to make it some time. Thanks for sharing your talent! :o)

  8. I just finished making all the parts for this wonderful Snoopy for my first grandson, due in June. I understood the part about the feet, but if you could re-write the instructions to include “no joining, work in spiral”, it would be very helpful. Also helpful for me are instructions that include some idea of where to place the arms and legs, when to actually add them, and do you stuff the tail? (I did stuff the tail) Now, I’m going to go see if I can put it together and have it look like Snoopy when I’m done. Thank you so very much for sharing this with us.

    • Thank you for your input, I hope your grandson loves it, and congrats on becoming a grandma!

      I will be rewriting certain parts of the pattern… I stuffed the tail very lightly at the base. I prefer to sew the limbs on before finishing the neck and stuffing the body, but some people prefer to sew them on after so they get a better idea of spacing. I spaced the tail and the outside edge of the legs somewhat evenly around the body, and the arms slightly back from the legs. But you know something, I’ve seen several people make this pattern and everyone has their own take on it, and I love every single one!

  9. Pingback: My turn >:) « Crochet A Day

    • On the feet follow steps 1 thru 3, but after that I had to draw a diagram to figure it out.

      This is what I came up with…
      4. Sc in next 4 sts, 2 sc in next 4 sts, sc in next 5 sts, sc2tog twice, sc in next st. – 20

      5. BLO: sc in next 5 sts, sc2tog three times, sc in next 6 sts, in both loops: sc in next 2 sts, BLO: sc in next st. – 17

      6. In both loops: sc in the next 5 sts, sc3tog, sc in next 9 sts. – 15

      7. Sc in next 4 sts, sc3tog, sc in next 8 sts. – 13

      8. Sc in next 3 sts, sc3tog, sc in next 7 sts. – 11

      9. 2 rows even

      Fasten off. Leave 12 inch tail ti attach to body.

  10. question: MR can I delete this ring and just sl st a ring? Or is there more support with the ring? I’ll have to try and find this. Is there a special size?

    • You can use whatever type of ring you’re most comfortable with! I prefer the Magic Ring because it doesn’t leave a hole in the middle of the piece.

  11. I made quite a few and each one comes out a little different in size. but on the feet item #7 you sc3tog twice. I only do it 1 once, If I do it twice I do not have 6 sts left.??

  12. I have a whippet at home, and this is the closest dog pattern I’ve seen to a whippet… looks just like a little whippet puppy. I love it, thank you so much for sharing. Too cute!!

    • You could add a couple repeats of the last row on each leg and arm to give it more whippet-like limbs… They’re great dogs, definitely one that I would consider if I had my own place. 🙂

  13. Just finished my first Snoopy and the little girl next door has already claimed him as hers. So very cute and turned out exactly like your photos.
    Some one was asking about where to get eyes and nose. I ordered on line from (thisandthat4you.com) prices are excellent. However, I finished this Snoopy with embroderied eyes and nose and worked fine.

    2 corrections
    Feet – row 7, 1 s3tog not 2
    Ears – row 11, once not twice

    Thanks for such a fun pattern

    • Delilah: Help! It sounds like you really enjoyed making this little dog. How difficult is this pattern? I’m just learning how to crochet but I would really like to make this cute little dog for my grandson.
      Thanks for the help.
      Zoe

  14. Cute Snoopy :3 when the pattern said that each increase should be done in the previous increase space, wat does that mean? 0.0 if possible plz give me an explanation on it or maybe a video =] thankq

    • The increase should be placed in the space created by the increase of the previous round. It’s on my rather long to-do list, to take some close-up pics and add them to the pattern. LollyPup and Snoopy have both been gifted though, so I’ll need to make another first…

  15. Pingback: Creative Tuesday: Amigurumi Snoopy « 20 MORE THINGS

  16. My oldest son use to have stuffed Snoopy when he was young, he will be 29 this year. I am going to make Snoopy for him. I’ll probably have to make 2 of them since my 3 year grandson will want one too, (like dad).

  17. “4.Sc in next 5 sts, 2sc in next 3 sts (toe formed), sc in next 5 sts, BLO sc2tog twice (heel) – 19 There have been quite a few comments about this step, things do not add up and I’m not sure how to fix it! The concept is that for the toe you increase (2sc) in the increase spaces from Row 3, and for the heel decrease (sc2tog) in the increase spaces from Row 3.”

    I found out what the problem is. See, there was 18 sts in the last round. But this round, 5(sc) + 3(inc) + 5(sc) + 4(sts for dec) = 17 sts worked. Sure, you end up with 19 sts, but there’s that extra st left over. Maybe it could be worked as an sc.

    “5.BLO sc in next 6 sts, sc2tog 3 times, sc in next 6 sts, in both loops sc in next 2 sts – 17 Same comments as for Row 4.”

    6(sc) + 6(sts for dec) + 6(sc) + 2(sc) = 20 sts. But there was only 19 sts last round. Maybe you can shave off an sc this round, or work another inc last round.

    Idk. Your choice. Just wanted to point this out.

    • Justina, thank you so much for your thoughts! I had the worst time trying to make this work on paper. I’ve been gathering comments and plan to rewrite the foot in the near future, I’ll keep your ideas in mind! 🙂

  18. OMG I LOOOOVE THIS PATTERN!!
    and im half way done with Snoopy only thing is im having a problem with the ears , what do u mean when u say each increase should be done in the previous increase space?

    • Rita- When you increse you make 2 stitches in the same space, they form a slight “V” shape. To make sure the ears lie flat, you want to make your next increase in that “V”, so all the increases line up evenly.

  19. Hey! I really want to make this for either my little sister or my dad since it’s so cute but I don’t understand what you mean by you sc3tog. I know how to decrease which I believe is the sc2tog but it isn’t quite clear. Please email with you response because I reeeeally want to make this!

    Thanks much,
    Andrea

    • Hi Andrea, the sc3tog decrease is very similar to the sc2tog decrease, except you repeat the step for another stitch and pull the last yo through 4 loops instead of 3 like in sc2tog. Does that make sense?

  20. hi rachel, i think your lollypop is very cute ! i made it in
    browns. i also made the dog snoopie a few years back mine was 16″ tall,.
    i would like to mention: i make stuff dolls my own and by patterns.
    doing it for 10 years now, retired. i donate to the montifiore
    childrens hospital in the bronx NY where i live.
    my dolls are unique in-it-self, i add extra decorations on all of my dolls. and this time for this exmas coming i thought to put
    toosie roll pops in the hand of each one.
    i do not sell nor ever cared to. I STARTED MAKING RABBIT LOOKING DOLLS WITH CROCHET DRESSES/HATS/SHOES
    HAND BAGS. SOLD THESE. 16-18″ TALL MADE OVER 400.00
    IN EASTER TIME. I HOPE TO HEAR FROM YOU “? OR JUST
    KEEP IT UP. PHYLLIS

    • Phyllis, that’s great that you make stuffed animals for the children’s hospital! I’m a childhood cancer survivor myself, and I know we always loved getting handmade toys. Do you have pictures you could share?

  21. what a nice dog is it.
    my dochter (11 mnd) is very in ove with any dog she sees so i want to make this one for her.
    i let you know when i finish it

  22. Rachel,
    Thanks so much for the wonderful pattern! I made the Snoopy one for a friend. I just followed the instructions to the letter and ignored the stitch count and it came out just fine.

  23. This is an awesome pattern…not difficult to follow at all, based on the other patterns I’ve made. You did a great job, and thank you so much for posting it. I am almost finished with him.

  24. Pingback: Petit chien violet et rose | chamigurumi

  25. Hiya, i am currently making this gorgeous lil snoopy and found in round 3 of the feet i am left with only 16sts not 18sts. i wil unravel n try again lol

  26. ok, so far wiv the feet, rows 1-3 r gd. row 4 i have decided to 1sc in next 5sc and inc in next 4sc then 5sc and blo sc2tog and do row 5 as written 🙂 i hope this helped.

  27. Adorable! I’m making this (Snoopy Version) for my friend’s son, and I’m still working on the head, but the stitches don’t count up right where it says:

    “Sc in next 9 sts, (2sc, sc in next 4 sts) 5 times – 38”

    But 9+(6*5)=39, not 38.

    Should the stitch count for that round (and the next four rounds) be 38 or 39?

  28. Pingback: Peanuts | Idea Leuconoe

    • Wanda, I’m not sure what you mean about the replays printing? You can copy/paste the pattern into a Word document and print that separately, I’m not good at formatting things on the blog like this LOL!

  29. Love the pattern! This makes a lovely Snoopy!

    I added 1 sc to fix the “feet” and it came out fine.

    On the ears, Line10: Sc even – 10, then
    Line 11: (Sc in 8, sc2tog) twice – 8. Stitch count here is 9 Stitches and the “twice” should be deleted.

    Amazingly well done! Thank you so much for sharing this pattern

  30. hi love your snoopy dog and so kind of you to share the pattern, been reading through all the above comments are i think some of them are a bit cruel, and unneccesary, I don’t know how you feel about them (sorry )

  31. Hi. Thank you so much for this pattern and for allowing us to sell with of course crediting you. I made him in a sky blue color and my family loved it and couldn’t believe it came from a pattern. Thank you again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

